Outreach and AwardsFoundation BrainAid/IZN Master Thesis Award


For the best master’s thesis in the Interdisciplinary Center for Neurosciences

The Foundation BrainAid/IZN Master’s Award is an annual book prize given in recognition of an outstanding master’s thesis in the Neurosciences. Candidates must be current members of IZN research groups or have been members while the relevant work was performed. Self-nomination of candidates is encouraged.

Deadline for nominations for the 2025 award is May 30, 2025. The prize will be awarded during the annual IZN Retreat at Kloster Schöntal.

Applications should include:

  • CV
  • Scientific justification (one page, single spaced, Arial 11)
  • Summary of the significance of the work in lay terms (half page, single spaced, Arial 11)
  • PDF of the master thesis submitted in 2024 or before May 30, 2025

Please email your application to the chair of the selection committee, Prof. Dr. Christoph Schuster: Schuster@nbio.uni-heidelberg.de.

Past Winners

2024: Sofiya Zbaranska (Monyer Lab)

2023: Rangeet Manna (Schlesiger Lab)

2022: Stephanie Küppers (Grinevich Lab)

2021: Kristina Battis (Bading Lab)

2020: Carolin Fischer (Köhr Lab)

2019: Katja Baur (Ciccolini Lab)

2018: Melina Castelanelli (Draguhn Lab)

2017: Constanze Depp (Bas Orth Lab)